I don't see the link exchange with Brothersoft (a software directory, most of which is freedom-depriving) as really beneficial to Nuxified. I have never thought of using such a site, nor have heard of anyone else doing so either (with a few popular exceptions such as TuCows and Download.com); thus I do not think it really brings many visitors. Also, the site feels sketchy to me.
__________________
Disclaimer: My posts may change (dramatically) within the first 15 minutes they're posted.












Thanks for the complaint. The exchange was initiated by Brothersoft. I put their button in exchange for Nuxified button among their useful links. I don't know their traffic details, but seeing how often their searches pop up on many software related queries makes me think they have much more traffic than Nuxified.org at this time so I thought the exchange wont hurt, and sometimes it might be beneficial for even general software sites to link to a Free Software site (helping spreading awareness of freedomware a bit in the process). When I say "general software" I mean sites that just search among all existing software, whether free or not (and yeah that does mean most of it ends up being proprietary since there isn't yet as many popular Freedomware apps).
So, that's the reasoning behind accepting it. BUT, if others agree it is tacky for this site I can remove it. Brothersoft guy/s will wonder wtf but.. well f**k 'em.
Edit: Oh btw, just curious.. why do you think they're sketchy? From emails, they seem to be from Europe somewhere as their english is weird, but other than that.. not sure..
What does everyone think?
Libervis.com | Idea Search
Login or register to post comments 0 points
I just have one comment, Its about the placement of the link, just next to the "Free your data" button
Login or register to post comments 0 points
Edit: Oh btw, just curious.. why do you think they're sketchy? From emails, they seem to be from Europe somewhere as their english is weird, but other than that.. not sure..
Most of the software on there is freedom-depriving software (mostly shareware) that no one has ever heard of, even including the recommendations. Thus, most software on there cannot be trusted at all.
Plus, the site's look kind of reminds me of a typical domain squatter.
Disclaimer: My posts may change (dramatically) within the first 15 minutes they're posted.
Login or register to post comments 0 points
Hm so what to do? Cancel the exchange?
It doesn't look like a squatter site to me though. Design is design. It can be bad good, liked or disliked etc..
Cheers
Libervis.com | Idea Search
Login or register to post comments 0 points