Skip to main content
Welcome guest. | Register | Login | Post

fedora9

11 replies [Last post]
Offline
Joined: 2008-06-21

help,ive been trying to figure out for a month several problems that i have had since i installed fedora 9.i cant seem to find answers to these problems on any existing forum or help pages supplied by fedora.ok my first problem,,good old broadcom BCM94311MCG wlan mini-PCI.i have upgraded the kernel,i have installed sourceforge repository,i have installed the newest version of ndiswrapper,i have installed fx-cutter[i know that is not the correct name]i have rebooted ,still no available ndiswrapper,[system/admin/windows/drivers]i have the driver downloaded,but dont know how or where to install it---help..problem #2 ,,,i am using a linksys wireless system [hopefully temporary]but it usally takes me a 1/2 hr. to an hour to get it to work.i am not sure which combination or actions i take to make it work,but bottom line when i shut down or reboot,i have to go thru the sequence again,,,,i am about to pull my hair out,and i am 55 yrs old,so believe me i dont have much to spare.problem #3,now after all the modifications and actions ive taken,the system update[yum] wont install my current updates[110 0f them].i have tried yum update,yum upgrade,and i still get an internal error that tells me to report it as a bug.first of all i dont even know how to report it as a bug or who to report it to,and to add insult to injury when i click on help i get nothing.needless to say,yes i am a nooby to linux.i have one other problem,my video card ---i dont know how to enable hardware acceleration,errors that i get when running programs indicate that i dont have my old windows drivers installed,but due to the previous problems,i havent dug into that one yet....so ,if anyone could help me i would be thrilled------chris baugh

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
Hi, welcome to

Hi, welcome to Nuxified.

About problem #1, the broadcom wireless, you might want to take a look at this. It looks like it's a script that allows you to easily set up your broadcom on Fedora 9. Just follow the instructions there. I'm not sure if you tried this yet, but if not it might help.

About problem #2, I unfortunately don't have much experience with wireless routers, but maybe someone else can pop in.. The procedure for setting up wireless, as far as I know, is to enter your WEP encryption password and connect.. Shouldn't be much to it and it should be a one time step. I'm not sure what's going on there that makes you need to go through half an hour of setting up every time...

Problem #3.. I assume you tried the graphical updater? This sort of thing really shouldn't happen on stable new releases. It's possible that while you were trying to solve your previous problems something in the system was incidentally broken. If anything maybe a clean re-install would help.

Regarding your video card, which card is it? Windows drivers wont work on Fedora, but depending on the card there may be native drivers for it.

Regards

Offline
Joined: 2006-03-28
When connecting to a

When connecting to a wireless router going with NetworkManager usually is a good idea. This will also give you an applet in your task-bar where you can select your wireless-network and it will ask you for your encryption-key.

About the encryption-key: It is better to go with WPA or even better WPA2 than WEP as WEP is too easy to crack with modern computers. If your router isn't too old it should support WPA2, my LinkSys-WLAN-router does.

Usually updates should work, having the exact error-message here would be nice. I don't think that in the course of the time Fedora 9 now is available any big changes were made that would disallow a fresh installation to upgrade.
If necessary I could make a fresh installation of Fedora 9 and try it out.

Which user do you use for updates? When using the graphical-updater you should use your normal user. Fedora 9 from what I have seen pretty much disallows installing packages and updates as root, which is quite a nice idea, but something one needs to get used to.
If you are using yum on the command-line on the other hand you need to be root.

And as libervisco said, we need to know what graphics-card you have in order to tell you how to enable 3D-acceleration.
That said, if the card was supported out of the box, like Intel-GPUs, it should work already.
What does glxinfo say? If you don't have it yet, it should be in the package glx-utils.

If it does not work out of the box I guess you may either have a nVidia- or ATI-card, or a card that doesn't even offer accelerated 3D, in which case of course there is nothing you can do.

As far as I remember there are nVidia-drivers in the livna-repository (which anyway may be a good idea to add as it contains support for common formats like DVD or MP3, if you need those). For ATI-cards there is a Linux-driver on their website which comes with an installer-script that does the magic for you. Also for that you will need to be root.

a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
Slashdotting is good for your health.
reptiler wrote:

If it does not work out of the box I guess you may either have a nVidia- or ATI-card, or a card that doesn't even offer accelerated 3D, in which case of course there is nothing you can do.

As far as I remember there are nVidia-drivers in the livna-repository (which anyway may be a good idea to add as it contains support for common formats like DVD or MP3, if you need those). For ATI-cards there is a Linux-driver on their website which comes with an installer-script that does the magic for you. Also for that you will need to be root

The freedomware radeonhd driver (Fedora package xorg-x11-drv-radeonhd) for ATI cards provide 3D acceleration at least up to R500 cards.
Ionno how nouveau is for NVidia.

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
If the graphics card is an

If the graphics card is an ATI Radeon older than X850 (R300) then probably a bit more mature option might be the standard freedomware (aside from a gray-area blob it depends on) radeon xorg driver. But if that's the card then it should work automatically on distros like Fedora.

Offline
Joined: 2008-06-21
problems solved

I would like to thank all the above post,and say that the problems have been solved thanks to all---but i have one other problem that you all may help me solve,i want to use a usb soundcard to record on ardour and audicity,i cant get either program to reconize the adapter,there must be a way to enable it or somrthing.---------------chris

a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
Make sure the driver is running.

Search around to see what driver your soundcard requires. Make sure it is installed, and if it is, that it is running/the kernel module is loaded (lsmod|grep DRIVER-MODULE). If it is not, start it with "modprobe DRIVER-MODULE".

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
Agreed with a thing. And if

Agreed with a thing. And if you're not sure about the driver it'll help if you say which USB adapter it is.

Cheers

Offline
Joined: 2008-06-21
problems

I still havent figured the above problem concerning my sound card,i have sound,but i just cant get my sound card to ackowledge an external sound card[usb],anyway i tried the above but it still doesnt work.my computer is a compaq presario 714 NR.its only 6 m0 old.the exterior soundcard is generic and has no name,but it worked great when i ran windows vista.I also have another problem,i installed livna repositories in yum,but i always get error 14,it says that it cant connect,and to check the dir????I downloaded it from the livna web site ,so how can it be the wrong dir???,,,anyway maybe if i could figure out how to remove it and reinstall it i think it might work----any help would be appreciated,i need my gstreamer-ugly -----help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!chris

a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
confused about the setup

I am confused. A soundcard is plugged into a soundcard? How does that work and what is the point of it?

How did you setup Livna?

Offline
Joined: 2008-06-21
problems

ok,it sounds like a sound card is plugged into a soundcard,but the exterior soundcard is plugged into a usb port.it cancels out the little 10 cent sound cards that are installed in most laptops.,it pretty much is a plug & play type of adapter that gives you a lower latency that you need for recording audio.When i used it on a windows system,it cancels out the mic ,,headphone plugins and creates a line in which reduces exterior noise.....it did work great on vista,and as a matter of fact without it ,trying to record audio wasnt even possible using the computers audio plugins.As far as livna ,,i installed it from livna's web site,using a terminal,i think i used yum install etc... anyway i cant get it off,nor i cant make it work either,when i try to enable it in yum i just get errors saying that they cant connect,and i have to disable the repositories before any pkgs. even come up..........chris

a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
1. What soundcard

1. What soundcard specifically are you using?

2. As root, look at /etc/yum.conf and the files in /etc/yum.repos.d/ and delete any text that has to do with Livna. Then just run "rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-9.rpm".

Comment viewing options