Skip to main content
Welcome guest. | Register | Login | Post

vmware workstation6 on fedora7

7 replies [Last post]
Offline
Joined: 2007-09-08

hi everyone

i installed vmware workstation6 on fedora7 and configure it. now i want to install xp on vmware but it said:

VMware Workstation license does not exist or the VMware Workstation license you are using has expired. Your virtual machine cannot be powered on.
Be sure that your host machine's date and time are set correctly.

Please enter a valid serial number by choosing Help > Enter Serial Number or click on the Get Serial Number button below.

how can i active it?i want to train services such as samba,ssh,ftp and others.

tbuitenh's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-21
Seems like you need to buy

Seems like you need to buy a license. Isn't proprietary software "lovely"?

You can have your freedom taken away for 30 days gratis, or pay to have it removed permanently. You can even get rid of some privacy if you like.

Oh yes. Sorry for the sarcasm.

Offline
Joined: 2007-09-08
provide a network in vmware workstation6

I use a DSL connection and I want to train services such samba , apache , ssh, ftp and others in vmware workstation. how can i provide a network in vmware and connect to internet in it?
meanwhile i installed xp professional and centos5 in vmware. and all off them installed in fedora7.

tbuitenh's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-21
I've tried to find you an

I've tried to find you an answer, but couldn't find anything useful.

Please note this is a Free (as in freedom) software help forum, and vmware is NOT Free software. We do also try to help when people want to combine Free and non-Free software, but as I understand it in such cases we help with the usage of the Free software and not with the usage of the non-Free software. (note to libervisco: please confirm or correct me).

You see, it is rather difficult to support software you don't want to or can't afford to install on your own computer...

Now, if we do have a member who uses vmware, I'm sure he or she will help you... anyone?

tbuitenh's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-21
Note that if you want to

Note that if you want to have a virtual network of virtual machines, vmware is not the only option (probably the most point-and-clicky option, but not the only). For one Free example there is virtual square, and probably some other software I don't know about, too.

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
tbuitenh wrote: We do also
tbuitenh wrote:

We do also try to help when people want to combine Free and non-Free software, but as I understand it in such cases we help with the usage of the Free software and not with the usage of the non-Free software. (note to libervisco: please confirm or correct me).

Yes, well, that's what differs this from from some general computing forum actually. If we were to support all software without any emphasis on Free Software we wouldn't be a "Free Software Support Community" as it says in the logo. Smiling

Shabakeh, note that the problem you described in the original post is one obstacle we cannot really help you with. We can say what your options are and in cases like this (and like any proprietary software which is free only for evaluation) your options are: pay or don't use it. So if there are alternatives that are Free Software and therefore don't have this problem trying them would be recommended instead.

Offline
Joined: 2007-09-08
hi my freindI am happy

hi my friend

I am happy now. finally i can configure vmware6 on fedora7 from a wonderful patch. you can refer to this site and examine it:

http://communities.vmware.com/message/76957

thank you very much

free-zombie's picture
Offline