Skip to main content
Welcome guest. | Register | Login | Post

What about my windows based programs

8 replies [Last post]
Offline
Joined: 2007-06-09

I'm new and i am looking at the Linux way, I've tried the free Ubuntu disk i got off-line and used it as a dual boot along side xp home. I liked it as it looked very clean in its set-up, but then i got to thinking what about all my windows based programs that i use??.
I want to get away from windows as vista just looks like a big con to the average home user...
My main look is server to host my sites!! but this is another post...

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
For most of your windows

For most of your windows based programs there should be a good alternative ready for GNU/Linux. Ubuntu in particular has synaptic which makes it very easy to add new software.

It depends on what your windows programs are. If there is one for which there are no alternatives you might consider emulating it with WINE.

Let us know which programs are those.

Also, I'll split these couple of posts into a separate thread, if you don't mind. It's not quite related to this one. Smiling

a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
the giant table

http://www.libervis.com/wiki/index.php?title=Table_of_Equivalent_Software

That hasn't been worked on in a while, but it should help a lot. If there's anything you use that isn't on there, post it.

How did this post get on top of the first post in the thread? Drupal does some strange things when posts are moved...

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
a_thing wrote: How did
a_thing wrote:

How did this post get on top of the first post in the thread? Drupal does some strange things when posts are moved...

Fixed. Smiling

Offline
Joined: 2006-06-19
Two more tables of window
a thing's picture
Offline
Joined: 2005-12-20
first table

That first table is what our table is based on, but the original has nonfree software in it.

libervisco, is this fixed in Drupal 5?

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
I'm not sure. For moving

I'm not sure. For moving topics a special comment_mover module is used. There seems to be an update to it and this seems to be the related bug report so I'll update.

Edit: Updated, but it doesn't seem to affect this topic. It's weird though, I don't remember this happening to the posts that were previously made into threads. I guess I'd have to look into the database or test it out in a test forum..

Cheers

Offline
Joined: 2007-06-09
this looks very overwelming

this looks very overwelming and will take some time in getting my head around

libervisco's picture
Offline
Joined: 2006-05-04
If you have any questions

If you have any questions or doubts just ask in these forums and we'll try to help. Anything goes, don't hold anything back. Smiling

I think this is among the processes best taken together with the community rather than alone so.. we're here.

Comment viewing options